Book Virtual Appointment
Scottish Disability Golf Sponsorship

Scottish Disability Golf Sponsorship

Posted: September 26, 2019

Although various competition structures were played over the previous 20 years, the current and fully inclusive, Scottish Open Golf Championship format, was first played in 2008 at the St Michael’s Golf Club, Leuchars in Fife, where Sidey Ltd first became involved, with the Lord Provost of Fife, by sponsoring the event and its golfers with disabilities. Subsequent Open Championships were held at other venues like Scots Craig Golf Club in Tayport Fife, an Open qualifying course and the 13th oldest in the world, and several other prestigious venues around the country.
Congratulations to all nine trophy winners at the Sidey Scottish Open Championship for 2019. The three trophy winners in the overall net, scratch and stableford divisions at the Dalmahoy Golf & Country Club, were led by Martin Webb of Lanark, who receives an invitation to the 2020 Phoenix Cup European team to play against the USA next September, Paul Ellison of St Andrews who won the scratch Isle of Harris Golf Club Trophy and a lifetime membership to the club and Gordon Latto of Cupar who won the overall stableford Caledonia Trophy and has taken the lead in the new Patriot Tables for the year.

Our thanks go to the sponsors who continue to support the SDGC and its efforts: like Sidey Ltd, Scottish Golf and the several dozen UK-wide, Trusts and Foundations. We must also thank Scott and Wayne, the 92nd and 93rd PGA Pro’s to provide golf tuition to SDGC members under our annual programme, who provided much needed coaching just prior to the Open for our beginners, juniors and novices to the game.

Rachel, Cassie and all the office and background staff at Dalmahoy did a super job and we thank them very much. The green keepers worked hard to keep us on the straight and narrow and produced a great set up, with much praise for the greens on the East Course.

Net for the overall Sidey Trophy with the winner receiving an invite to the Phoenix Cup 2020
1 Martin Webb Scotland. 2 James Hopes Scotland. 3 Stephen Crocker England

Scratch for the Isle of Harris Golf Club Trophy and an Honorary Life Membership of their Club
1 Paul Ellison Scotland. 2 David Standing England. 3 Matthew Coleman Scotland

Stableford, for the Caledonia Trophy, counting for the Patriot Order of Merit Championship 2019
1 Gordon Latto Scotland . 2 Paul Daley England. 3 Terry Kirby England